COMMUNICATION WORKERS UNION OF KENYA

AFFILIATED TO: CENTRAL ORGANISATION OF TRADE UNIONS (KENYA) UNION NETWORK INTERNATIONAL GENEVA

All correspondence should be addressed to the General Secretary

Telephone : 254-20-2219345/6 Fax : 020-2219347 National Chairman: Emmanuel K. Kanda General Secretary : Benson O. Okwaro General Treasurer : Joseph Rwanjau



Hermes House Tom Mboya Street P.O. Box 48155 - 00100

Nairobi

e-mail: info@cowukenya.or.ke

Date: 7th December, 2018

Our Ref: COWU-PCK-012-049-2018

The Postmaster General Postal Corporation of Kenya P.O. Box 34567 **NAIROBI**

Dear Sir,

RE: FAILURE TO REMIT STATUTORY DEDUCTIONS

We make reference to the above matter where you have failed to remit deducted amounts for long periods resulting into our members being prejudiced and affected in various ways including being black listed at Credit Reference Bureau (CRB).

As you are aware, what you have done and continue to do is a criminal offence punishable by various acts of parliaments. No amount of excuse or reason can exonerate you from these.

The outstanding amounts not remitted are as follows: -

1. Banks - 131,613,011.35 2. Saccos - 62,839,209.80 3. NHIF - 3,165,000.00 4. Insurance - 1,483,620.10

5. PCK Pension

Scheme - 625,972,672.42

Giving a grand total of - 826,359,278.00

========

Despite several meetings and promises from your side, matters seem to be getting worse from day after day.

This being the case, we now demand from you that you remit all the outstanding amount to the relevant authorities and bodies by the end of December 2018, failure to which we shall take such further action as we shall deem fit and necessary. Such action(s) will include but not limited to launching criminal complaints against yourselves.

Kindly note that failure to do as per our demands above, we shall proceed and take the necessary action without any further reference to you.

Yours faithfully,

BENSON O. OKWARO
GENERAL SECRETARY

Cc: All Branch Secretaries – COWU (K)

Cc: Cabinet Secretary – Ministry of Labour

Cc: Cabinet Secretary – Ministry of ICT

Cc: Secretary General – COTU (K)

Cc: Chief Executive Officer - N.H.I.F

Cc: Chief Executive Officer – Retirement Benefits Authority (R.B.A)

EOO/zsb.